Missouri state law (RSMO 345.020) prohibits anyone from practicing speech-language pathology without a Missouri license.
RSMO 345.025.1(6) provides: The provisions of sections 345.010 to 345.080 do not apply to an individual who “holds a current valid certificate as a speech-language pathologist issued by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) and who is an employee of a public school while providing speech-language pathology services in such school system”.
There are three different ways to obtain a speech language pathologist student services certificate from DESE:
- A certificate will be issued if the person holds a valid Missouri license from the Board of Healing Arts. This certificate is valid for as long as the license is current. If the license becomes inactive, the certificate is no longer valid.
- A certificate will be issued if the person completes a Teacher Preparation Program with sufficient credits in speech pathology. This certificate is valid for 99 years.
- A certificate will be issued if the person has completed a teacher preparation program in another state and holds a valid teaching certificate in speech pathology or something comparable from another state. This certificate is valid for 99 years.
If a speech language pathologist’s certificate was issued based on holding a valid Missouri license and the Missouri license is no longer current, the certificate becomes invalid. As a result, the speech language pathologist’s enrollment in the Missouri Medicaid program will be terminated.